Was it you?

image

Grandma, it’s me again.
You know, I went to an Asian store two days ago, right?  I had little strange moment over there.  I talked to one old lady looks like from south Asia when I was picking Japanese Daikon. This is how that started.
When I was checking daikon if it was fresh enough, so did the old lady. Most of them  were all huge and not so fresh. I was thinking that’s too much for me to buy for just making one or two dishes in this case. All of a sudden she said “Yeah, it is too much, isn’t it?” as nodding her head, like agreeing me. I was so surprised she answered my thinking. How did she read my mind? But I don’t know why that was very natural to me, so I answered back to her that we should keep digging. So we digged together in the pile of huge Daikon finding fresh and not so big ones. We found just one piece of fresh daikon, but it was still huge. She asked me how much I need. I told her i need just a small piece, like half of that daikon. She needed it same size as I do. She offered me to share that daikon. I said OK to her wondering if there’s a knife to cut it half. “But how are we gonna cut it?” While I was asking that she just grabbed her shopping cart and hit daikon with it. She cracked the daikon open with easily. That made me laugh. It was I’ve never thought of that would happen. Using shopping cart for cutting daikon….that’s smart! The old lady has some experience like you, grandma. She made me smile and happy. Later on, I was still looking around and run into her again in the different isle. She said “Are you still here?”, with a big smile on her face. I said “Yeah, and you are too!?” That was funny, made me laugh again. she was so cute and witted lady.
I thought she was like an angel, because she made me happy just talking to me when I was sad after I lost you… like she knows what I needed.
I was very comfortable with her. Thinking of her smile this morning, I noticed it was just like yours.
So…..was it you, grandma?

Posted from WordPress for Android

Published in: on 2011年5月27日 at 4:53 pm  コメントする